FANDOM


BrettFavre.jpg

Brett Favre is the all-time leader in consecutive starts by an NFL quarterback, spanning 19 total seasons of pro football.

Manning cropped.jpg

Peyton Manning is second on the all-time list of consecutive starts by a quarterback and has the longest current streak.

This is a list of the most consecutive starts by a quarterback in the NFL. Only six players in NFL history have been able to achieve regular season streaks of at least 100 games,[1][2][3][4][5][6][7] with only two of those with a regular season streak of at least 200 games.[8][9]

Brett Favre has held the record since November 7, 1999 when he made his 117th consecutive start against the Chicago Bears.[10] His consecutive starts streak is also the longest all-time for a non-special teams player.[11] On December 5, 2010 against the Buffalo Bills, Favre was knocked out of the game on the first drive with a sprained SC joint injury to his right shoulder caused by a hit from linebacker Arthur Moats. After a snowstorm delayed the following Sunday's game against the New York Giants to Monday, December 13, Favre was ruled inactive, ending his streak at a record 297 games. That same night, opposing QB Eli Manning became the sixth quarterback to start at least 100 consecutive games.[12]

Of special note, Peyton Manning's consecutive starts streak is the longest of all-time to begin a career.[13] Also worthy of recognition is Dan Marino, who started 145 consecutive non-strike games from 1984-1993 (154 including playoffs), but due to a player strike in October 1987 where replacement players were used and Marino opted not to participate, this streak is not officially recognized.[14]

Following is the list of quarterbacks to achieve the longest consecutive regular season starts at the quarterback position.

All-time consecutive starts streaks Edit

Updated through the 2010 season

Bold denotes an active streak

Rank Quarterback Period Teams Consecutive Starts Playoffs Total
1 Brett Favre[15][16] 9/27/1992 – 12/5/2010 Green Bay; NY Jets; Minnesota 297 24 321
2 Peyton Manning[17] 9/6/1998 – present Indianapolis 208 19 227
3 Ron Jaworski[18][19][20] 9/18/1977 – 11/25/1984Philadelphia1167123
4 Tom Brady[21][22][23] 9/30/2001 – 9/7/2008New England11117128
5 Joe Ferguson[24][25] 9/18/1977 – 9/23/1984Buffalo1073110
6 Eli Manning[26] 11/21/2004 – presentNY Giants1037110
7 Dan Marino[27][28] 10/25/1987 – 10/10/1993Miami95499
8 Roman Gabriel[29] 11/28/1965 – 9/17/1972LA Rams89291
9 Johnny Unitas[30][31] 9/27/1959 – 11/7/1965Baltimore88391
10 Jim Everett[32] 9/4/1988 – 10/23/1993LA Rams87491
11 Richard Todd[33] 9/9/1979 – 12/2/1984NY Jets; New Orleans86490
12 Aaron Brooks[34] 11/26/2000 – 12/12/2005New Orleans82284
13 Trent Green[35] 9/9/2001 – 9/10/2006Kansas City81182
14 Philip Rivers[36] 9/11/2006 – presentSan Diego80787
15 Drew Brees[37] 9/11/2005 – 12/27/2009San Diego; New Orleans79281
16 Steve Grogan[38] 11/23/1975 – 11/16/1980New England76278
17T Fran Tarkenton[39] 12/11/1966 – 12/12/1971Minnesota; NY Giants71071
17T Joe Theismann[40] 12/7/1980 – 11/18/1985Washington71879
17T Rich Gannon[41] 9/12/1999 – 10/20/2003Oakland71778
20T Brian Sipe[42] 9/3/1978 – 12/12/1982Cleveland70171
20T Trent Dilfer[43] 9/3/1995 – 10/24/1999Tampa Bay70272
20T Drew Bledsoe[44] 9/8/2002 – 10/23/2006Buffalo; Dallas70070

See also Edit

Most consecutive starts (NFL)

References Edit

  1. "Favre Above the Pain". Seattle Times. http://seattletimes.nwsource.com/html/seahawks/2003444151_hawk23.html. Retrieved 2010-10-14.
  2. "SPORTS' IRON MEN". The Capital Times. http://www.highbeam.com/doc/1G1-125496657.html. Retrieved 2010-10-21.
  3. "Nobody tests his mettle quite like NFL's iron-man QB". CBS Sports.com. http://www.cbssports.com/nfl/story/10374507/1. Retrieved 2010-10-14.
  4. "Injuries taking a serious toll on quarterback position". NFL.com. http://www.nfl.com/news/story?id=09000d5d80319a9e&template=without-video&confirm=true. Retrieved 2010-10-14.
  5. "NFL: By the numbers". San Diego Union-Tribune. http://www.signonsandiego.com/uniontrib/20080908/news_1s8nflnumbs.html. Retrieved 2010-10-14.
  6. "Remember 99 Starts Ago?". Wall Street Journal. http://online.wsj.com/article/SB10001424052748704457604576011902639301710.html. Retrieved 2010-12-21.
  7. "Eli finally beats Vikings, Texans fall short". ESPN.com. http://espn.go.com/blog/statsinfo/post/_/id/14034/eli-finally-beats-vikings-texans-fall-short. Retrieved 2010-12-14.
  8. "Iron-Man Favre To Make 200th Consecutive Start". Packers.com. http://www0.nfl.packers.com/news/releases/2004/11/24/2/. Retrieved 2010-10-14.
  9. "Manning hits 200 starts today". The Herald Bullitin. http://heraldbulletin.com/colts/x603547991/Manning-hits-200-starts-today. Retrieved 2010-11-07.
  10. "Pro Football History: Iron Man". Pro Football Hall of Fame. http://www.profootballhof.com/history/release.aspx?release_id=1345. Retrieved 2010-10-12.
  11. "Vikings QB Favre 'grateful' after his NFL-record 271st start in a row". NFL.com. http://www.nfl.com/news/story?id=09000d5d812bff3a&template=with-video-with-comments&confirm=true. Retrieved 2009-09-21.
  12. "Brett Favre unable to start vs. Giants" ESPN.com
  13. "Peyton Manning Career Notes". Colts.com. http://www.colts.com/sub.cfm?page=bio&player_id=8. Retrieved 2008-12-22.
  14. "Marino's golden arm changed game". ESPN.com
  15. "Brett Favre - Game Logs". NFL.com. http://www.nfl.com/players/brettfavre/gamelogs?id=FAV540222&season=2010. Retrieved 2010-12-14.
  16. "Favre's consecutive start streak comes to an end at 297". NFL.com. http://www.nfl.com/news/story/09000d5d81ce178f/article/favres-consecutive-start-streak-comes-to-an-end-at-297?module=HP_headlines. Retrieved 2010-12-14.
  17. "Peyton Manning - Profile". NFL.com. http://www.nfl.com/players/peytonmanning/profile?id=MAN515097. Retrieved 2007-12-26.
  18. "Ron Jaworski - Game Logs". NFL.com. http://www.nfl.com/players/ronjaworski/gamelogs?id=JAW553722&season=1984. Retrieved 2007-12-26.
  19. "Ron Jaworski - Bio". Sports Stars USA. http://sportsstarsusa.com/php/featuredartist.php?id=648&category=Football&name=Ron-Jaworski. Retrieved 2008-08-23.
  20. "Philadelphia Eagles All-Time History 1984". PhiladelphiaEagles.com. http://www.philadelphiaeagles.com/team/alltimehistory.asp. Retrieved 2010-10-18.
  21. "Tom Brady - Game Logs". NFL.com. http://www.nfl.com/players/tombrady/gamelogs?id=BRA371156&season=2008. Retrieved 2007-12-26.
  22. "Patriots win, but Brady's injury overshadows game". ESPN.com. http://sports.espn.go.com/nfl/recap?gameId=280907017. Retrieved 2008-09-07.
  23. "Brady's season over after injuring knee vs. Chiefs". NFL.com. http://www.nfl.com/news/story?id=09000d5d80a95089&template=with-video&confirm=true. Retrieved 2008-09-07.
  24. "Joe Ferguson - Game Logs". NFL.com. http://www.nfl.com/players/joeferguson/gamelogs?id=FER184572&season=1984. Retrieved 2007-12-26.
  25. "The Month of September in Bills History". BuffaloBills.com. Archived from the original on 2008-06-07. http://web.archive.org/web/20080607114318/http://www.buffalobills.com/history/September.jsp. Retrieved 2008-08-23.
  26. "Eli Manning - Profile". NFL.com. http://www.nfl.com/players/elimanning/profile?id=MAN473170. Retrieved 2009-09-14.
  27. "Dan Marino - Game Logs". NFL.com. http://www.nfl.com/players/danmarino/gamelogs?id=MAR149079&season=1993. Retrieved 2010-10-21.
  28. "Dolphins Individual Records - Service". MiamiDolphins.com. http://www.miamidolphins.com/esp/team/records/individual-records-service. Retrieved 2010-10-21.
  29. "Roman Gabriel - Game Logs". NFL.com. http://www.nfl.com/players/romangabriel/gamelogs?id=GAB616560&season=1972. Retrieved 2010-10-21.
  30. "Johnny Unitas Statistics". ProFootballReference.com. http://www.pro-football-reference.com/players/U/UnitJo00.htm. Retrieved 2010-10-29.
  31. "Last game Unitas did not start prior to beginning of starts streak". 49ers Game Books 1958. http://media.49ers.com/Game+Books/1950s/1958.download. Retrieved 2011-06-17.
  32. "Jim Everett - Game Logs". NFL.com. http://www.nfl.com/players/jimeverett/gamelogs?id=EVE237308&season=1993. Retrieved 2010-10-30.
  33. "Richard Todd - Game Logs". NFL.com. http://www.nfl.com/players/richardtodd/gamelogs?id=TOD166116&season=1984. Retrieved 2010-10-30.
  34. "Aaron Brooks - Game Logs". NFL.com. http://www.nfl.com/players/aaronbrooks/gamelogs?id=BRO114367&season=2005. Retrieved 2010-10-30.
  35. "Trent Green - Game Logs". NFL.com. http://www.nfl.com/players/trentgreen/gamelogs?id=GRE367521&season=2006. Retrieved 2010-10-30.
  36. "Philip Rivers - Profile". NFL.com. http://www.nfl.com/players/philiprivers/profile?id=RIV651634. Retrieved 2009-09-21.
  37. "Drew Brees - Game Logs". NFL.com. http://www.nfl.com/players/drewbrees/gamelogs?id=BRE229498&season=2009. Retrieved 2010-10-30.
  38. "Steve Grogan - Game Logs". NFL.com. http://www.nfl.com/players/stevegrogan/gamelogs?id=GRO075506&season=1980. Retrieved 2010-10-30.
  39. "Fran Tarkenton - Game Logs". NFL.com. http://www.nfl.com/players/frantarkenton/gamelogs?id=TAR369148&season=1971. Retrieved 2010-10-30.
  40. "Joe Theismann - Game Logs". NFL.com. http://www.nfl.com/players/joetheismann/gamelogs?id=THE276861&season=1985. Retrieved 2010-10-30.
  41. "Rich Gannon - Game Logs". NFL.com. http://www.nfl.com/players/richgannon/gamelogs?id=GAN296635&season=2003. Retrieved 2010-10-30.
  42. "Brian Sipe - Game Logs". NFL.com. http://www.nfl.com/players/briansipe/gamelogs?id=SIP415291&season=1982. Retrieved 2010-10-30.
  43. "Trent Dilfer - Game Logs". NFL.com. http://www.nfl.com/players/trentdilfer/gamelogs?id=DIL049692&season=1999. Retrieved 2010-10-30.
  44. "Drew Bledsoe - Game Logs". NFL.com. http://www.nfl.com/players/drewbledsoe/gamelogs?id=BLE195074&season=2006. Retrieved 2010-10-30.
Community content is available under CC-BY-SA unless otherwise noted.