Brett Favre, the all-time leader in consecutive starts by an NFL player.

This is a list of the most consecutive starts and games played by a player by position in the NFL.[1][2]

Brett Favre's starts streak of 297 games is the longest all-time.[3][4] Among defensive players, Jim Marshall's starts streak of 270 is the longest all-time.[3]

Of special note is punter Jeff Feagles, who played in 352 consecutive games which is the longest of all-time for a special teams player.[5] Special teams players are not credited with starts in the NFL.[1][6]

Ronde Barber is the most recent player to surpass someone at his position for consecutive starts, having bested Dick LeBeau's previous mark for cornerbacks in 2010.[7]

All-time consecutive starts streaks[edit | edit source]

Updated through the 2010 season

Bold denotes an active streak

Consecutive games started leader board[edit | edit source]

File:AlanPage.jpg

Alan Page started 215 consecutive games with Minnesota and Chicago.

Peyton Manning is the most recent player to achieve 200 consecutive starts by an NFL player.

Minimum 200 consecutive regular season starts[1][2][8]

Rank Player Pos Period Teams Consecutive Starts Playoffs Total
1 Brett Favre[9][10] QB 9/27/1992 – 12/5/2010 Green Bay; NY Jets; Minnesota 297 24 321
2 Jim Marshall[11][12] DE 9/17/1961 – 12/16/1979 Minnesota 270 19 289
3 Mick Tingelhoff[13][14] C 9/16/1962 – 12/17/1978 Minnesota 240 19 259
4 Bruce Matthews[15][16] OL 11/29/1987 – 1/6/2002 Houston/Tennessee 229 15 244
5 Will Shields[17][18] RG 9/12/1993 – 12/31/2006 Kansas City 223 8 231
6 Alan Page[19][20] DT 10/8/1967 – 12/20/1981 Minnesota; Chicago 215 19 234
7 Jim Otto[21][22] C 9/11/1960 – 12/14/1974 Oakland 210 13 223
8T Derrick Brooks[23][24] LB 9/1/1996 – 12/28/2008 Tampa Bay 208 11 219
8T Peyton Manning[25] QB 9/6/1998 – present Indianapolis 208 19 227
10 Gene Upshaw[26][27] LG 9/10/1967 – 10/4/1981 Oakland 207 24 231
11 Randall McDaniel[28][29] LG 10/22/1989 – 1/6/2002 Minnesota; Tampa Bay 202 16 218

Consecutive games played leader board[edit | edit source]

File:!Jeff Feaglesl.JPG

Jeff Feagles, the all-time leader in consecutive games played by an NFL player.

File:Bill Romanowski.jpg

Bill Romanowski played in 243 consecutive regular season games from 1988 to 2003.

Minimum 225 consecutive regular season games played[1][30]

Rank Player Pos Period Teams Consecutive Games Playoffs Total
1 Jeff Feagles[6][31] P 9/4/1988 – 1/3/2010 New England; Philadelphia; Arizona; Seattle; NY Giants 352 11 363
2 Brett Favre[9][32] QB 9/13/1992 – 12/5/2010 Green Bay; NY Jets; Minnesota 299 24 323
3 Jim Marshall[11][33] DE 9/25/1960 – 12/16/1979 Cleveland; Minnesota 282 19 301
4 Morten Andersen[34][35] K 10/25/1987 – 12/15/2002 New Orleans; Atlanta; NY Giants; Kansas City 248 8 256
5 Chris Gardocki[36][37] P 11/28/1991 – 12/31/2006 Chicago; Indianapolis; Cleveland; Pittsburgh 244 14 258
6 Bill Romanowski[38][39] LB 9/4/1988 – 9/22/2003 San Francisco; Philadelphia; Denver; Oakland 243 28 271
7 Mick Tingelhoff[13][14] C 9/16/1962 – 12/17/1978 Minnesota 240 19 259
8T Jim Bakken[40][41] K 11/25/1962 – 12/17/1978 St. Louis 234 2 236
8T Gary Anderson[42][43] K 10/25/1987 – 1/7/2002 Pittsburgh; Philadelphia; San Francisco; Minnesota 234 17 251
10 Bruce Matthews[15][44] OL 11/29/1987 – 1/6/2002 Houston/Tennessee 232 15 247
11 Jim Turner[45][46] K 9/12/1964 – 12/17/1979 NY Jets; Denver 228 8 236

Offensive skilled consecutive starts[edit | edit source]

Walter Payton, the all-time leader in consecutive starts by an NFL running back.

Position Player Period Teams Consecutive Starts Playoffs Total
Quarterback Brett Favre[9][10] 9/27/1992 – 12/5/2010 Green Bay; NY Jets; Minnesota 297 24 321
Wide receiver Tim Brown[47][48] 12/14/1992 – 12/7/2003 LA/Oakland 176 9 185
Running back Walter Payton[49][50] 12/7/1975 – 9/20/1987 Chicago 170 8 178
Tight end Tony Gonzalez[51][52] 9/19/1999 – 11/12/2006 Kansas City 120 1 121
Fullback Jim Brown[53][54] 9/29/1957 – 12/19/1965 Cleveland 118 4 122

Offensive linemen consecutive starts[edit | edit source]

File:Jon Runyan 080528-F-8730G-003 crop.jpg

Jon Runyan, the all-time leader in consecutive starts by an NFL right tackle.

Position Player Period Teams Consecutive Starts Playoffs Total
Center Mick Tingelhoff[13][14] 9/16/1962 – 12/17/1978 Minnesota 240 19 259
Right guard Will Shields[17][18] 9/12/1993 – 12/31/2006 Kansas City 223 8 231
Left guard Gene Upshaw[26][27] 9/10/1967 – 10/4/1981 Oakland 207 24 231
Left tackle Doug Dieken[55][56] 11/21/1971 – 12/16/1984 Cleveland 194 4 198
Right tackle Jon Runyan[57][58] 8/31/1997 – 12/28/2008 Tennessee; Philadelphia 192 21 213

Defensive linemen consecutive starts[edit | edit source]

Position Player Period Teams Consecutive Starts Playoffs Total
Defensive end Jim Marshall[11][12] 9/17/1961 – 12/16/1979 Minnesota 270 19 289
Defensive tackle Alan Page[19][20] 10/8/1967 – 12/20/1981 Minnesota; Chicago 215 19 234
Nose tackle Fred Smerlas[59][60] 9/7/1980 – 9/20/1987 Buffalo 107 3 110

Linebackers consecutive starts[edit | edit source]

File:Derrick Brooks with 2006 Pro Bowl MVP trophy 060210-N-4856G-129.jpg

Derrick Brooks, the all-time leader in consecutive starts by a linebacker.

Position Player Period Teams Consecutive Starts Playoffs Total
Linebacker Derrick Brooks[23][24] 9/1/1996 – 12/28/2008 Tampa Bay 208 11 219

Defensive backs consecutive starts[edit | edit source]

Position Player Period Teams Consecutive Starts Playoffs Total
Cornerback Ronde Barber[61] 11/21/1999 – present Tampa Bay 183 9 192
Safety[62] Willie Wood[63][64] 9/17/1961 – 12/19/1971 Green Bay 154 9 163
Strong Safety Bill Thompson[65][66] 9/16/1973 – 12/20/1981 Denver 134 5 139
Free Safety Darryl Williams[67][68] 10/11/1992 – 12/27/1998 Cincinnati; Seattle 108 0 108

Special teams consecutive games played[edit | edit source]

Ethan Albright, the all-time leader in consecutive games played by an NFL long snapper.

Position Player Period Teams Consecutive Games Playoffs Total
Punter Jeff Feagles[6][31] 9/4/1988 – 1/3/2010 New England; Philadelphia; Arizona; Seattle; NY Giants 352 11 363
Kicker Morten Andersen[34][35] 10/25/1987 – 12/15/2002 New Orleans; Atlanta; NY Giants; Kansas City 248 8 256
Long snapper Ethan Albright[69][70] 9/1/1996 – 1/3/2010 Buffalo; Washington 224 6 230
Kick/Punt returner Carl Roaches[71][72] 9/7/1980 – 12/16/1984 Houston 73 1 74

Note: Games played by special teams players such as kickers and punters are not recognized officially as starts by the NFL.[1][6][34]

See also[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 1.3 1.4 ESPN.com: Double Coverage: Favre vs. Ripken
  2. 2.0 2.1 Packers.com: Iron-Man Favre To Make 200th Consecutive Start As Packers-Rams Clash On Monday Night Football Cite error: Invalid <ref> tag; name "Iron-Man Favre To Make 200th Consecutive Start As Packers-Rams Clash On Monday Night Football" defined multiple times with different content
  3. 3.0 3.1 "Vikings QB Favre 'grateful' after his NFL-record 271st start in a row". NFL.com. http://www.nfl.com/news/story?id=09000d5d812bff3a&template=with-video-with-comments&confirm=true. Retrieved 2009-09-21. Cite error: Invalid <ref> tag; name "271 starts" defined multiple times with different content
  4. "Favre's consecutive start streak comes to an end at 297". NFL.com. http://www.nfl.com/news/story/09000d5d81ce178f/article/favres-consecutive-start-streak-comes-to-an-end-at-297?module=HP_headlines. Retrieved 2010-12-14.
  5. Feagles feat recognized
  6. 6.0 6.1 6.2 6.3 "Jeff Feagles - Game Logs". NFL.com. http://www.nfl.com/players/jefffeagles/gamelogs?id=FEA207645&season=2009. Retrieved 2010-11-11.
  7. "Tampa Bay secondary burned again". http://www.foxsportsflorida.com/10/18/10/Tampa-Bay-secondary-burned-again/landing_bucs.html?blockID=333681&feedID=6913. Retrieved 2010-12-03.
  8. "NFL Iron Man Brett Favre finally sits one out". Statesman.com. http://www.statesman.com/sports/pro/nfl-iron-man-brett-favre-finally-sits-one-1118539.html. Retrieved 2011-01-11.
  9. 9.0 9.1 9.2 "Brett Favre - Game Logs". NFL.com. http://www.nfl.com/players/brettfavre/gamelogs?id=FAV540222&season=2010. Retrieved 2010-12-14.
  10. 10.0 10.1 "Brett Favre set for tests with streak over". ESPN.com. http://sports.espn.go.com/nfl/news/story?id=5916329. Retrieved 2011-01-13.
  11. 11.0 11.1 11.2 "Jim Marshall - Game Logs". NFL.com. http://www.nfl.com/players/jimmarshall/gamelogs?id=MAR425940&season=1979. Retrieved 2010-11-11.
  12. 12.0 12.1 "Former Viking Marshall congratulates Favre on iron-man record". NFL.com. http://www.nfl.com/news/story?id=09000d5d812e82b1&template=with-video-with-comments&confirm=true. Retrieved 2011-01-11.
  13. 13.0 13.1 13.2 "Mick Tingelhoff - Game Logs". NFL.com. http://www.nfl.com/players/micktingelhoff/gamelogs?id=TIN092287&season=1978. Retrieved 2010-11-13.
  14. 14.0 14.1 14.2 "No. 51 Mick Tingelhoff". Huskers.com. http://www.huskers.com/ViewArticle.dbml?DB_OEM_ID=100&ATCLID=1477961. Retrieved 2011-01-13.
  15. 15.0 15.1 "Bruce Matthews - Game Logs". NFL.com. http://www.nfl.com/players/brucematthews/gamelogs?id=MAT532814&season=2001. Retrieved 2011-01-11.
  16. "Iron Man Matthews earns his bronze bust in Canton". USA Today. http://www.usatoday.com/sports/football/nfl/2007-08-02-bruce-matthews_N.htm. Retrieved 2011-01-13.
  17. 17.0 17.1 "Will Shields - Game Logs". NFL.com. http://www.nfl.com/players/willshields/gamelogs?id=SHI231768&season=2006. Retrieved 2010-11-13.
  18. 18.0 18.1 "Carl Peterson on Will Shields". KCChiefs.com. http://staff2.kcchiefs.com/news/2007/04/16/carl_peterson_on_will_shields_r/. Retrieved 2011-01-13.
  19. 19.0 19.1 "Alan Page - Game Logs". NFL.com. http://www.nfl.com/players/alanpage/gamelogs?id=PAG332232&season=1981. Retrieved 2010-11-13.
  20. 20.0 20.1 "A Page Out Of NFL History". Sports Illustrated. http://sportsillustrated.cnn.com/vault/article/magazine/MAG1125124/index.htm. Retrieved 201-1-13.
  21. "Jim Otto - Game Logs". NFL.com. http://www.nfl.com/players/jimotto/gamelogs?id=OTT553720&season=1974. Retrieved 2011-01-11.
  22. "HOF: JIM OTTO". Pro Football Hall of Fame. http://www.profootballhof.com/hof/member.aspx?player_id=169. Retrieved 2011-01-13.
  23. 23.0 23.1 "Derrick Brooks - Game Logs". NFL.com. http://www.nfl.com/players/derrickbrooks/gamelogs?id=BRO122327&season=2008. Retrieved 2010-11-13.
  24. 24.0 24.1 "Ex-Buc Derrick Brooks officially retires from NFL". TBO.com. http://www2.tbo.com/content/2010/aug/11/111124/ex-buc-derrick-brooks-announces-retirement-nfl/. Retrieved 2011-01-13.
  25. "Peyton Manning - Profile". NFL.com. http://www.nfl.com/players/peytonmanning/profile?id=MAN515097. Retrieved 2007-12-26.
  26. 26.0 26.1 "Gene Upshaw - Game Logs". NFL.com. http://www.nfl.com/players/geneupshaw/gamelogs?id=UPS276861&season=1981. Retrieved 2010-12-09.
  27. 27.0 27.1 "HOF: GENE UPSHAW". Pro Football Hall of Fame. http://www.profootballhof.com/hof/member.aspx?player_id=220. Retrieved 2011-01-13.
  28. "Randall McDaniel - Game Logs". NFL.com. http://www.nfl.com/players/randallmcdaniel/gamelogs?id=MCD118650&season=2001. Retrieved 2011-01-11.
  29. "HOF: RANDALL MCDANIEL". NFL.com. http://www.profootballhof.com/hof/member.aspx?player_id=274. Retrieved 2011-01-13.
  30. Feagles' retirement kick ricochets
  31. 31.0 31.1 "Giants punter Jeff Feagles retires after 22 seasons and record 352 consecutive games". The Gaea Times. http://sports.gaeatimes.com/2010/04/30/giants-punter-jeff-feagles-retires-after-22-seasons-and-record-352-consecutive-games-97799/. Retrieved 2011-01-13.
  32. "Favre's starts streak ends at 297". ESPN.com. http://espn.go.com/blog/statsinfo/post/_/id/13959/favres-start-streaks-ends-at-297. Retrieved 2011-01-27.
  33. "Giants punter Feagles tops Marshall’s record for consecutive games played". Spokesman-Review. http://www.spokesman.com/stories/2005/nov/28/giants-punter-feagles-tops-marshalls-record-for/. Retrieved 2011-01-27.
  34. 34.0 34.1 34.2 "Morten Andersen - Game Logs". NFL.com. http://www.nfl.com/players/mortenandersen/gamelogs?id=AND020258&season=2002. Retrieved 2010-11-13.
  35. 35.0 35.1 "No. 7 Morten Andersen". New Orleans Saints History. http://www.nosaintshistory.com/bios/Morten_Andersen.htm. Retrieved 2011-01-13. Cite error: Invalid <ref> tag; name "No. 7 Morten Andersen" defined multiple times with different content
  36. "Chris Gardocki - Game Logs". NFL.com. http://www.nfl.com/players/chrisgardocki/gamelogs?id=GAR211558&season=2006. Retrieved 2011-02-11.
  37. "Chris Gardocki Statistics". Pro-Football-Reference.com. http://www.pro-football-reference.com/players/G/GardCh20.htm. Retrieved 2011-02-11.
  38. "Bill Romanowski - Game Logs". NFL.com. http://www.nfl.com/players/billromanowski/gamelogs?id=ROM323001&season=2003. Retrieved 2011-01-27.
  39. "Q&A with Bill Romanowski". New Orleans Saints History. http://www.sportingnews.com/nfl/story/2009-08-16/qa-bill-romanowski-misses-intensity-preparing-for-game. Retrieved 2011-01-27.
  40. "Jim Bakken - Game Logs". NFL.com. http://www.nfl.com/players/jimbakken/gamelogs?id=BAK800901&season=1978. Retrieved 2011-02-11.
  41. "NFL Ironmen". SFGate.com. http://articles.sfgate.com/1995-09-08/sports/17814792_1_streaks-players-strike-games. Retrieved 2011-02-11.
  42. "Gary Anderson - Game Logs". NFL.com. http://www.nfl.com/players/garyanderson/gamelogs?id=AND273108&season=2001. Retrieved 2011-02-11.
  43. "Gary Anderson Statistics". Pro-Football-Reference.com. http://www.pro-football-reference.com/players/A/andergar02.htm. Retrieved 2011-02-11.
  44. "TSHOF:Matthews, Bruce". Texas Sports Hall of Fame. http://www.tshof.org/inductees/index.html?staff_id=193. Retrieved 2011-02-11.
  45. "Jim Turner - Game Logs". NFL.com. http://www.nfl.com/players/jimturner/gamelogs?id=TUR415288&season=1979. Retrieved 2011-02-11.
  46. "New York Jets Famous Players: Jim Turner". FootballJets.com. http://footballjets.com/famous-players/. Retrieved 2011-02-11.
  47. "Tim Brown - Game Logs". NFL.com. http://www.nfl.com/players/timbrown/gamelogs?id=BRO736644&season=2003. Retrieved 2010-11-13.
  48. "Tim Brown Statisics". Pro-Football-Reference.com. http://www.pro-football-reference.com/players/B/BrowTi00.htm. Retrieved 2011-01-13.
  49. "Walter Payton - Game Logs". NFL.com. http://www.nfl.com/players/walterpayton/gamelogs?id=PAY738296&season=1987. Retrieved 2010-11-17.
  50. "George rejects Titans' latest offer, asks for release". SignOnSanDiego.com. http://www.signonsandiego.com/sports/nfl/20040719-1914-fbn-titans-george.html. Retrieved 2011-01-13.
  51. "Tony Gonzalez - Game Logs". NFL.com. http://www.nfl.com/players/tonygonzalez/gamelogs?id=GON587645&season=2006. Retrieved 2010-11-14.
  52. "Atlanta Falcons' Tony Gonzalez Adds Another NFL Record To His Resume". Bleacher Report. http://bleacherreport.com/articles/549467-atlanta-falcons-tony-gonzalez-adds-another-nfl-record-to-his-resume. Retrieved 2011-01-13.
  53. "Jim Brown - Career Stats". NFL.com. http://www.nfl.com/players/jimbrown/careerstats?id=BRO483276. Retrieved 2010-11-14.
  54. "Jim Brown Statistics". Pro-Football-Reference.com. http://www.pro-football-reference.com/players/B/BrowJi00.htm. Retrieved 2011-01-13.
  55. "Doug Dieken - Game Logs". NFL.com. http://www.nfl.com/players/dougdieken/gamelogs?id=DIE346075&season=1984. Retrieved 2010-11-17.
  56. "Pat's Beside the Point". Ohio.com. http://www.ohio.com/sports/40484647.html. Retrieved 2011-01-13.
  57. "Jon Runyan - Game Logs". NFL.com. http://www.nfl.com/players/jonrunyan/gamelogs?id=RUN804626&season=2008. Retrieved 2010-12-09.
  58. "Shawn Andrews out; Eagles work out Jon Runyan". Delco Times. http://www.delcotimes.com/articles/2009/09/11/sports/doc4aa93687ebd01541631093.txt. Retrieved 2011-01-13.
  59. "Fred Smerlas - Game Logs". NFL.com. http://www.nfl.com/players/fredsmerlas/gamelogs?id=SME664464&season=1987. Retrieved 2010-12-10.
  60. "A Wild And Crazy Guy". Sports Illustrated. http://sportsillustrated.cnn.com/vault/article/magazine/MAG1067984/index.htm. Retrieved 2011-01-13.
  61. "Ronde Barber - Profile". NFL.com. http://www.nfl.com/players/rondebarber/profile?id=BAR048197. Retrieved 2010-11-11.
  62. "Willie Wood Statistics:Right Safety-Left Safety-Free Safety". Pro-Football-Reference.com. http://www.pro-football-reference.com/players/W/WoodWi00.htm. Retrieved 2011-01-13.
  63. "Willie Wood - Game Logs". NFL.com. http://www.nfl.com/players/williewood/gamelogs?id=WOO174852&season=1971. Retrieved 2010-12-09.
  64. "HOF: WILLIE WOOD". Pro Football Hall of fame. http://www.profootballhof.com/hof/member.aspx?player_id=235. Retrieved 2011-01-13.
  65. "Bill Thompson - Game Logs". NFL.com. http://www.nfl.com/players/billthompson/gamelogs?id=THO733502&season=1981. Retrieved 2010-11-15.
  66. "Bill Thompson Statisics". Pro-Football-Reference.com. http://www.pro-football-reference.com/players/T/ThomBi01.htm. Retrieved 2011-01-13.
  67. "Darryl Williams - Game Logs". NFL.com. http://www.nfl.com/players/darrylwilliams/gamelogs?id=WIL207591&season=1998. Retrieved 2010-12-09.
  68. "Darryl Williams Statistics". Pro-Football-Reference.com. http://www.pro-football-reference.com/players/W/WillDa03.htm. Retrieved 2011-01-13.
  69. "Ethan Albright - Game Logs". NFL.com. http://www.nfl.com/players/ethanalbright/gamelogs?id=ALB637766&season=2009. Retrieved 2011-01-07.
  70. "Ethan Albright Bio". Redskins.com. http://www.redskins.com/gen/players/Ethan_Albright.jsp. Retrieved 2011-01-13.
  71. "Carl Roaches - Game Logs". NFL.com. http://www.nfl.com/players/carlroaches/gamelogs?id=ROA593270&season=1984. Retrieved 2010-12-03.
  72. "Carl Roaches Statistics". Pro-Football-Reference.com. http://www.pro-football-reference.com/players/R/RoacCa00.htm. Retrieved 2011-01-13.
Community content is available under CC-BY-SA unless otherwise noted.