FANDOM


Godwin Igwebuike
Safety
Personal information
Date of birth: (1994-09-10) September 10, 1994 (age 25)
Place of birth: Pickerington, Ohio
Career information
College: Northwestern
Undrafted in 2018
No regular season or postseason appearances
Career history
* Tampa Bay Buccaneers ( 2018)
Roster status: Active
Career highlights and awards
  • N/A

Godwin Igwebuike (born September 10, 1994) is an American football safety for the New York Jets of the National Football League (NFL). He played college football at Northwestern.

Professional careerEdit

Tampa Bay BuccaneersEdit

Igwebuike was signed by the Tampa Bay Buccaneers as an undrafted free agent on April 30, 2018.[1] He was waived on September 1, 2018 and was signed to the practice squad the next day.[2][3] He was promoted to the active roster on November 16, 2018.[4] He was waived on November 26, 2018.[5]

San Francisco 49ersEdit

On November 27, 2018, Igwebuike was claimed off waivers by the San Francisco 49ers.[6] He was waived on April 29, 2019.[7]

Philadelphia EaglesEdit

Igwebuike was claimed off waivers by the Philadelphia Eagles on April 30, 2019.[8] He was waived on August 2, 2019.[9]

New York JetsEdit

On August 4, 2019, Igwebuike was claimed off waivers by the New York Jets.[10]

Personal lifeEdit

Igwebuike is the nephew of former NFL kicker Donald Igwebuike.[11]

ReferencesEdit

  1. "Bucs Add 14 Undrafted Free Agents". April 30, 2018. https://www.buccaneers.com/news/bucs-add-14-undrafted-free-agents-20617587. Retrieved November 17, 2018.
  2. Smith, Scott (September 1, 2018). "Robinson, Tandy Among Cuts as Bucs Get to 53". https://www.buccaneers.com/news/robinson-tandy-among-cuts-as-bucs-get-to-53. Retrieved November 17, 2018.
  3. Smith, Scott (September 2, 2018). "Bobo Wilson Returns on First Practice Squad". https://www.buccaneers.com/news/bobo-wilson-returns-on-first-practice-squad. Retrieved November 17, 2018.
  4. Smith, Scott (November 16, 2018). "Bucs Promote Godwin Igwebuike". https://www.buccaneers.com/news/bucs-promote-godwin-igwebuike.
  5. Smith, Scott (November 26, 2018). "Bucs Waive Rookie Safety Godwin Igwebuike". https://www.buccaneers.com/news/bucs-waive-rookie-safety-godwin-igwebuike.
  6. "49ers Announce Several Roster Moves". November 27, 2018. https://www.49ers.com/news/49ers-announce-several-roster-moves-x4700.
  7. "San Francisco 49ers Waive Seven Players". April 29, 2019. https://www.49ers.com/news/san-francisco-49ers-waive-seven-players.
  8. McPherson, Chris (April 30, 2019). "Eagles claim safety Godwin Igwebuike off waivers from the 49ers". https://www.philadelphiaeagles.com/news/eagles-claim-safety-godwin-igwebuike-off-waivers-from-the-49ers.
  9. "Eagles officially sign Johnathan Cyprien; Waive S Godwin Igwebuike". The Eagles Wire. USA Today. August 2, 2019. https://theeagleswire.usatoday.com/2019/08/02/eagles-officially-sign-johnathan-cyprien-waive-s-godwin-igwebuike/.
  10. Greenberg, Ethan (August 4, 2019). "Jets Claim S Godwin Igwebuike, Waive CB Jeremy Clark". https://www.newyorkjets.com/news/jets-claim-s-godwin-igwebuike-waive-cb-jeremy-clark.
  11. "Rookie safety Godwin Igwebuike proud to bring familiar name to Bucs". Tampa Bay Times. May 1, 2018. https://www.tampabay.com/blogs/bucs/2018/05/01/rookie-safety-godwin-igwebuike-proud-to-bring-familiar-name-to-bucs/.

External linksEdit

Community content is available under CC-BY-SA unless otherwise noted.