FANDOM


1996 Saskatchewan Roughriders season
Head Coach Jim Daley
General Manager Alan Ford
Home Field Taylor Field
Results
Record 5–13–0
Place 4th, West
Playoff Finish did not qualify
Uniform
275px
Timeline
Previous season Next season
1995 1997

The 1996 Saskatchewan Roughriders finished in 4th place in the West division with a 5–13 record and missed the playoffs for the second consecutive season.

OffseasonEdit

CFL DraftEdit

Round Pick Player Position School/Club Team
1 3 Mike Sutherland Offensive Lineman Northern Illinois
2 12 Tom Monois Wide Receiver Northeastern
3 23 Alton Francis Running Back/Placekicker Northern Illinois
4 29 Paul Frian Linebacker St. Francis Xavier
4 30 Dwayne Ell Defensive Lineman North Dakota
5 39 Nelson Van Waes Slotback/Linebacker Tulsa
6 47 Christopher Flory Offensive Lineman Saskatchewan
7 56 Greg Moe Placekicker Saskatchewan

PreseasonEdit

Week Date Opponent Score Result Attendance
A Mon, June 10 at Calgary Stampeders 26–15 Win 19,214
B Fri, June 14 vs. Edmonton Eskimos 23–18 Win 25,632

Regular seasonEdit

Season standingsEdit

West Division
Team GP W L T PF PA Pts
Calgary Stampeders 18 13 5 0 608 375 26 Details
Edmonton Eskimos 18 11 7 0 459 354 22 Details
Winnipeg Blue Bombers 18 9 9 0 421 495 18 Details
Saskatchewan Roughriders 18 5 13 0 360 498 10 Details
BC Lions 18 5 13 0 410 483 10 Details

[1]

Season scheduleEdit

Week Date Opponent Score Result Attendance Record
1 Sun, June 23 vs. Calgary Stampeders 33–13 Loss 20,311 0–1
2 Wed, July 3 at Ottawa Rough Riders 29–14 Win 14,388 1–1
3 Wed, July 10 vs. Edmonton Eskimos 27–24 Win 21,014 2–1
3 Sun, July 14 at Hamilton Tiger-Cats 40–16 Loss 24,902 2–2
4 Bye
5 Fri, July 26 vs. Toronto Argonauts 26–8 Loss 18,276 2–3
6 Mon, Aug 5 at Calgary Stampeders 38–11 Loss 26,110 2–4
7 Sun, Aug 11 vs. Montreal Alouettes 32–20 Loss 21,997 2–5
8 Sat, Aug 17 at Edmonton Eskimos 25–8 Loss 36,011 2–6
9 Fri, Aug 23 at Montreal Alouettes 23–16 Loss 26,511 2–7
10 Sun, Sept 1 vs. Winnipeg Blue Bombers 41–23 Win 25,876 3–7
11 Sun, Sept 8 at Toronto Argonauts 31–13 Loss 17,576 3–8
12 Sun, Sept 15 vs. Ottawa Rough Riders 18–16 Loss 19,567 3–9
13 Sat, Sept 21 at BC Lions 22–10 Loss 21,221 3–10
14 Sat, Sept 28 vs. Winnipeg Blue Bombers 37–15 Loss 19,861 3–11
15 Sun, Oct 6 vs. Hamilton Tiger-Cats 37–26 Win 22,682 4–11
16 Sun, Oct 13 at Winnipeg Blue Bombers 20–14 Loss 26,161 4–12
17 Sat, Oct 19 vs. BC Lions 27–19 Win 26,537 5–12
18 Bye
19 Sun, Nov 3 at Calgary Stampeders 46–23 Loss 19,747 5–13

RosterEdit

Saskatchewan Roughriders rosterview · talk · edit
Quarterbacks

Running Backs

Wide Receivers

Slotbacks

Offensive Linemen

Defensive Linemen

Linebackers

Defensive Backs

Special Teams

Injured

Practice Roster


Italics indicate Import player

More rosters

Awards and recordsEdit

CFL All-Star SelectionsEdit

Western All-Star SelectionsEdit

  • Robert Mimbs, Running Back

MilestonesEdit

ReferencesEdit

Community content is available under CC-BY-SA unless otherwise noted.